Extension Plant Sciences Awards Committee

The Extension Plant Sciences Awards Committee is charged with nominating departmental faculty and staff for awards outside the department. The Department Head will serve as an *ad hoc* member of the committee and may provide information about potential nominees and write supporting letter(s) of recommendation where appropriate. The Department Head will appoint the members, inclusive of the Chair, of the committee. Membership of the committee will consist of previous award winners and faculty and staff willing to nominate colleagues. The Committee Chair will maintain a list of possible candidates for awards and record the successful and unsuccessful nominations for the benefit of the incoming Chair. The Chair is expected to report committee activities to the department when appropriate. The Chair shall serve a one-year term and rotate off the committee at the end of their term as chair unless their term is extended. The term of the Chair may be extended through a simple majority vote of the committee and the concurrence of the Department Head. Committee members shall serve a maximum of three consecutive terms. A minimum of one-third of the membership shall rotate off the committee each term.

Committee: 2021 - 2022

• Jane Pierce (Chair)

• Members: Robert Flynn, Richard Heerema, Marisa Thompson